Does this experience help AT ALL? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Does this experience help AT ALL?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:46 pm

As an undergrad, I worked part-time at a biglaw firm in NYC. I did nothing but organize files, but I did have a lot of contact with associates and partners alike and got to know several fairly well.

I now am a 1L at a T2. Is it stupid of me to believe that this experience could help me land an interview this fall where I definitely wouldn't without this experience? I really liked the culture of the firm and would LOVE to work there.

Any ideas on how to utilize these contacts and how to highlight the fact that I know the firm well, know the culture, know the expectations etc etc etc. Or is that last part useless?

Thanks

LawIdiot86

Silver

Re: Does this experience help AT ALL?

Post by LawIdiot86 » Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:05 pm

Anonymous User wrote:As an undergrad, I worked part-time at a biglaw firm in NYC. I did nothing but organize files, but I did have a lot of contact with associates and partners alike and got to know several fairly well.

I now am a 1L at a T2. Is it stupid of me to believe that this experience could help me land an interview this fall where I definitely wouldn't without this experience? I really liked the culture of the firm and would LOVE to work there.