How much finance/econ do you have to know for corporate law?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
roranoa

How much finance/econ do you have to know for corporate law?

Postby roranoa » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:54 am

I was a literature major in undergrad and only took Econ 101 during that time.

I want to do corporate law, but I'm worried how unprepared I would be for it with my lack of knowledge in finance and economics.

I heard from people around me that law firms prefer candidates with finance backgrounds and that if you have a CFA or a CPA it helps immensely. Is this true?

How much finance or economics do you really have to know to do a good job in corporate law?

(I'm a 0L btw, didn't know which forum would be appropriate for this question so I just picked this one.)
Last edited by roranoa on Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

dark

Re: How much finance/econ do you have to know for corporate law?

Postby dark » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:05 pm

I was a poli sci undergrad. I think in general its possible to redefine yourself as a corporate/business guy in lawschool, but it is an uphill battle for good grades and a corporate associate position without any kind of business background.

From my experience, it's an uphill battle for these reasons: