Which is the best option for me? Please read Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
makarinivanalex

New

Which is the best option for me? Please read

Post by makarinivanalex » Mon Apr 08, 2024 6:29 pm

I am a student in my junior year at one of England's most prestigious and academic schools with (usually) around 70-80 graduates going to Oxford/Cambridge each year, plus a fair share going to Ivy League schools. Recently these numbers have fallen considerably due to a crackdown on classism and admissions from the big private public schools such as my one in England as colleges want to be more inclusive and cease only picking students from old private boarding schools like mine.

Although I go to a school like this, I am not applying to Oxbridge because my GCSE's (10 subjects I had exams in during sophomore year) were mediocre for my school's standard and Oxbridge tend to look more into those exams unlike other universities. I'm now doing A levels, and so far it's going good. I'm being tracked AAAA, but my actual 'predicted grades' (which are the ones that matter and the ones which I apply with) are to be increased, so I'm aiming for A*A*AA or A*A*A*A. FYI these grades are generally pretty good for nearly all undergrad law degree requirements. Unfortunately I cannot afford college in the US as it is super pricey for international kids and my parents are against that but I'm also not gonna qualify for financial aid either, meaning I'm kinda stuck.

Thus I have a couple options.

1. Try to do law in the UK (UCL, KCL, Edinburgh, LSE, Bristol, etc). I know that UCL is a safe option when it comes to getting employed after, but I also need to get accepted in which I'm not entirely confident about, IDK.