Will ANY ABA Approved Law School Accept me? (1.67 CAS GPA and 178 LSAT) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Kodzuken

New

Will ANY ABA Approved Law School Accept me? (1.67 CAS GPA and 178 LSAT)

Post by Kodzuken » Sat Mar 23, 2024 10:44 pm

I graduated from UC Berkeley about 5 years ago with a cumulative GPA of 2.54. I was really struggling back then and did all I could to try to graduate. I took P/NP for the classes I was struggling in so as to not ruin my GPA in order to receive my diploma. However, I'm applying for law schools now and I realize that there is such thing as a CAS GPA which is calculated differently from how my college GPA was calculated. After taking into account of all the NPs and incompletes I received, my GPA came down to a 1.67. I recently received a 178 on my LSAT because I studied really hard for it knowing that my GPA is super low. Given my situation, is there ANY ABA-Approved law school that would possibly accept me? I was really struggling in my early 20s and I didn't have a goal in life. But now I've finally decided on what I'm gonna do with my life, so I'd like to know, is it possible to turn my life around and go to a law school and become a lawyer?

talons2250

Bronze

Re: Will ANY ABA Approved Law School Accept me? (1.67 CAS GPA and 178 LSAT)

Post by talons2250 » Mon Mar 25, 2024 9:03 am

It's possible that a law school will accept you but it would probably be a school that will give you few to no employment options and just take your money.

Is it possible for you to redo undergrad? See if you can figure out how to re-do it cheaply and in 3 years instead of 4. I've heard of people doing this in situations like yours.

Dcc617

Gold

Post by Dcc617 » Mon Mar 25, 2024 9:36 am

You cannot "redo" undergrad for lsac purposes. The calculation only includes grades that were done before you got your bachelor's.