Undergrad Federal Appellate Judicial Externship as soft factor? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Aquinas

Bronze

Undergrad Federal Appellate Judicial Externship as soft factor?

Post by Aquinas » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:09 pm

Hi all,

When I was an undergrad, I spent a summer working as a judicial extern for a federal appellate judge with a pretty good reputation as feeder for Supreme Court clerkships. I obviously wasn't writing opinions, though I did get to produce a lot of other writing (think speeches, inter-chambers memos to concurring judges, etc.) for the judge, who is writing one of my LORs. I'm curious as to how this experience might be viewed as a soft factor in law school admissions--can anyone shed some light on that subject? Where might such an externship rank in the panoply of law school soft factors--I know it's considerably less impressive than a Rhodes or a Marshall or something of that ilk, but is this still the sort of thing that would intrigue admissions officers?

Thanks much in advance.

armc808

Bronze

Re: Undergrad Federal Appellate Judicial Externship as soft factor?

Post by armc808 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:45 pm