decent ugpa, abysmally low grad gpa Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
blackwidow

New

decent ugpa, abysmally low grad gpa

Post by blackwidow » Fri May 06, 2016 3:15 am

Hello there,

It's my first time posting a question here so in case i break a rule or two inadvertently, I apologize in advance.

I am currently in a physics phd prgram at one of top 5 institutions but lost passion for my research topic and I've always thought of going to law school following my dad's advice.

I am at the end of my second year in the program and I do have a master's degree to show for my time spent after my undergraduate.

I have a decent undergraduate gpa, 3.79 with a dual degree in math and physics.

But my graduate school gpa stands at 3.0 (physics graduate school is all about research and I just did the bare minimum to pass my general exams)

Is my extremely low graduate school degree gpa going to destroy my chances of being admitted to law school?

Both my undergraduate and graduate schools are two of the top 5 physics programs.
Last edited by blackwidow on Fri May 06, 2016 3:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

t-14orbust

Gold

Re: decent ugpa, abysmally low grad gpa

Post by t-14orbust » Fri May 06, 2016 3:15 am

It will likely have no effect at all. UGPA is what counts

blackwidow

New

Post by blackwidow » Fri May 06, 2016 3:16 am

t-14orbust wrote:It will likely have no effect at all. UGPA is what counts
thank you for such a quick response

what about my graduate degree and the fact that i have a strong science/math background?

Will it help at all?

t-14orbust

Gold

Post by t-14orbust » Fri May 06, 2016 3:17 am

blackwidow wrote:
t-14orbust wrote:It will likely have no effect at all. UGPA is what counts
thank you for such a quick response

what about my graduate degree and the fact that i have a strong science/math background?

Will it help at all?
Maybe slightly but not close to as much as a strong LSAT.

t-14orbust

Gold