UK Undergraduate applying for an American Law School Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
andydamo

New

UK Undergraduate applying for an American Law School

Post by andydamo » Sun Apr 17, 2016 9:41 pm

I am currently an undergrad student in England studying Mathematics. I wish to go to the law school in the States, preferably T14.

I have several questions, and a concern I would say, about my undergraduate performance record and how LSAC/T14 law schools would judge it.
I know many of you are not familiar to the British grading system. Normally our degree is be divided into classes instead of GPA numbers, and those are First Class Honours, Upper Second, Lower Second, Third, and the rest are fail. I have heard that the LSAC will not produce LSAC gpa for foreign undergraduates but instead they classify them into bands which are superior, above average, average, and below average. As fare as I have heard, first class graduates are usually classified as superior.
However when I was a first year student, I was not motivated enough to concentrate well on exams so I consequently failed the whole exam. Failure to progress to second year was followed by failure of first year exams. I had to take a year out and retake my exams to go back to the college. This is some kind of academic probation to punish exceptionally underperforming students and I was one of them.
After coming back to college I tried my best and achieved 1st class honours (78%) during my second year of study (which was last year) and I am aiming for first class again this year.