My situation, be a KJD or Work for some years? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
yfang12

New

My situation, be a KJD or Work for some years?

Post by yfang12 » Thu Jul 09, 2015 2:29 pm

So i am going to be a senior in the fall. And here are 2 options in front of me and i need to decided quick because one of the option has a due day in 2 month.

I am a public policy major and a political science minor, I am 21 years old right now, will be 3 month over 22 when i graduate college.

During the past 3 years, I took the advantage of our school's forgiveness program and retook a about 6 classes, there are 3 of them are F's and 2 of them are D's for the first time, dont ask me why, I was a 17 years freshman. But i got A's and B's for the second time so my GPA looks ok on my transcript.

I just found out that LSAC count both grades in, so my GPA took a big hit from 3.4 to a 2.9.
I still have about 9 classes left (Summer and Fall) before i apply to law school so I might get a 3.1 for the best, and my LSAT PT is around 168.

But since my school GPA is not so bad and i would be 3.5+ after next semester and i have done a lot of volunteers with children for the past 5 years I am given the chance to pursue a 1 year master in teaching in my filed of study (Social studies) with scholarship in a top 30 national ranking university. But if i took the chance I will be obligated to work for the school district for 2 years upon graduation as a full time paid secondary school teacher. (Is the scholarship condition).

So which option should i take ?

1. Go ahead with the GPA and LSAT go to Law school as KJD and graduate at age of 25
2. Go do the master program and work for 2 years then apply with a better GPA (Because i would have all my undergraduate study grades out by the time) and probably better LSAT, but i will be 28 when i graduate.

Being a lawyer is always something i want to do and big law is my goal eventually.