Professional School Bias Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wunderkind2

New

Professional School Bias

Post by wunderkind2 » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:45 am

I'm a student at an elite university, but I'm majoring in a field at their professional studies school. I have heard that law schools are unfairly biased against professional studies students and even though my university is considered elite overall, law schools "just know" that this particular college in the university is easy.

If I have a high GPA at this school, will I still be discriminated against in the admissions process because the school is "easy?" Individuals have been telling me that even with a 4.0 here and a 170+ LSAT, I stand no chance at any law school higher than NYU because I'm in this "easy" school. Is this true?

usn26

Silver

Re: Professional School Bias

Post by usn26 » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:50 am

This is undergrad?

They don't care - they'd gobble up a 4.0 from professional studies, southwestern podunk state technical college, or wherever over the 3.5 from HYP. Rankings, man. Just crush your classes and profit.

OhBoyOhBortles

Gold

Post by OhBoyOhBortles » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:51 am

usn26 wrote:This is undergrad?

They don't care - they'd gobble up a 4.0 from professional studies, southwestern podunk state technical college, or wherever over the 3.5 from HYP. Rankings, man. Just crush your classes and profit.

BasilHallward

Silver

Post by BasilHallward » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:55 am

Scoring over a 170 on the LSAT in almost all cases shows a high level of aptitude that demonstrates one will be successful in law school. Your undergrad major does not matter to law schools. If you are concerned whether or not this particular major will cultivate and prime you for a test like the LSAT is another question; a personal one.

Traynor Brah

Silver

Post by Traynor Brah » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:56 am

wunderkind2 wrote:I'm a student at an elite university