Reapplication Decision

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Estro_lema

Reapplication Decision

Postby Estro_lema » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:23 pm

Hello. I'm fairly new to this, but would appreciate any advice I can get.

My stats: 3.8/171. KJD, average sorts, volunteer work. White male. Top state university.

Out from HYS. In at Chicago ($15k/yr) and Columbia. Should I withdraw and reapply? I would retake the LSAT. Last year, (at the advice of my prelaw advisor, which I now regret...) I rushed and studied like mad for 6 weeks to take the June LSAT. Was still improving on my PT's.

My rationale would be for another shot at HYS and/or to secure a half/full scholarship at Chicago or Columbia (both of which are schools that I already love, though Columbia a bit more).

What are the risks? It seems like a gamble and I might not be willing to accept the worst outcome (which would be...?).

Thanks for your input.
Last edited by Estro_lema on Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xylocarp

Re: Reapplication Decision

Postby xylocarp » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:25 pm

Only one thread per topic please. I'm locking this one because the other has a response, but PM me if you want it the other way around.

Edit: Switched at the request of OP

R. Jeeves

Postby R. Jeeves » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:36 pm

How much $ do you have from other t14s?

Estro_lema

Postby Estro_lema » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:39 pm

pulstar wrote:How much $ do you have from other t14s?

$30k/yr at Duke, UVA, Michigan.

R. Jeeves

Postby R. Jeeves » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:51 pm

I think the worst case scenario is you getting YP'd at the lower T-14s that you've already been accepted to and turned down $ from while also failing to get into HYS or CCN with more $.

But if you're sure you can bump your LSAT by a couple points its worth it IMO. What will you be doing during your year off (besides LSAT prep)? Also is your GPA going to change at all?