Is my enrollment form binding?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
FifisMilkshake

New

Is my enrollment form binding?

Postby FifisMilkshake » Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:44 pm

I am on the waitlist for my dream school which I figured I will just ride it out until the fat lady sings. At the same time, I received a form from my safety school today saying I have until early July to send it back. The form that I have to sign says that by signing, I agree to formally matriculate to that law school. Is this binding???

FairchildFLT

Bronze

Re: Is my enrollment form binding?

Postby FairchildFLT » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:02 pm

I'm no expert, but signing a form that says "I agree to attend your school" sounds pretty binding to me.

fratstar1

Bronze

Postby fratstar1 » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:12 pm

What are they gonna do?

TheSpanishMain

Gold

Postby TheSpanishMain » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:06 pm

fratstar1 wrote:What are they gonna do?

I'm not sure breaking a formal agreement is the best way to start this whole law school thing.

NYSprague

Silver

Postby NYSprague » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:14 pm

What does it say exactly? I know early admissions is binding but I don't know about th enforceability of this agreement.

I dont think they can do more than keep your deposit.
This is not legal advice.

Mroberts3

Bronze

Postby Mroberts3 » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:20 pm

TheSpanishMain wrote:
fratstar1 wrote:What are they gonna do?

I'm not sure breaking a formal agreement is the best way to start this whole law school thing.

I see this response to similar questions about backing out of offers for firms, etc. I agree that one should not lightly make commitments one expects to back out of. However, we all know that schools and firms are not looking out for your best interests (despite what they constantly tell you). In fact, I feel comfortable saying that they will happily screw you over if it benefits them even in the slightest.