Addendum to explain withdrawal from a graduate program?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Addendum to explain withdrawal from a graduate program?

Postby lengua » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:15 am

Hello TLS community,

I'm an incoming student at one of the professional IR schools (SFS/SAIS/Fletcher/SIPA). I'm applying to law school to do a joint MA-JD degree and I'm concerned about whether I should write a specific addendum.

So my situation is: I enrolled in another IR program straight out of undergrad (two years ago) and after a couple of months realised that I hated it and left. I have since travelled around and worked for some time and decided that I wanted to go back to school and learn about development in a more professional setting. When I applied to the aforementioned schools I did write an addendum to explain why I had left from a somewhat similar program and I guess it worked.

Now my conundrum is: Are law schools interested in knowing about all that (I do have a longer than three month employment gap), or is all that "superseded" by my acceptance into a top IR school? Also, my biggest concern is that I don't think I have particularly solid reasons that wouldn't at the same time jeopardise my law school chances (In my previous addendum I said I felt that the curriculum was too academic/IR-theory based and I wanted to get real world work experience). I've been told that it's better not to write an addendum than one with weak arguments.

Sorry for the long post - I would be very very grateful for any advice/suggestions!

P.S. if it's helpful, I'm an international student, have a 3.8-3.9 UGPA and 172 LSAT and hoping to make into a T14.

Thanks a lot!

Re: Addendum to explain withdrawal from a graduate program?

Postby Da1andOnlyPharo » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:34 am