Need some TLS wisdom on negotiating scholarship (at Cardozo) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
CallMeMaybee

New

Need some TLS wisdom on negotiating scholarship (at Cardozo)

Post by CallMeMaybee » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:41 pm

Long time lurker, but this is my first post because I'm in dire need of some TLS wisdom.

I've been accepted to Cardozo with 40k. It's my first choice. I'm not trying be greedy, but I REALLY would like a full ride. 40k is soooooo close. The only other acceptance I have is to a local TTT with 75% tuition. I'm waiting to hear back from 2 T14 but not expecting much from them (GPA is 3.19/ LSAT is 169). If it matters, I have a Master's, legal work experience, and am a registered patent agent. I'm not from NY.

So... should I even bother asking for more $$$? Do I have any chance? And, how do I go about doing that?

Thanks in advance!

teachmehowtoraji

Bronze

Re: Need some TLS wisdom on negotiating scholarship (at Cardozo)

Post by teachmehowtoraji » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:50 pm

I'm sure you'll hear this from a ton of people on this thread, but your 169 should open up a lot of doors at schools with much better employment stats than Cardozo, probably even with a fair amount of $ this cycle. Where else did you apply other than the two T14s you mentioned/where do you want to end up working in the long run?

CallMeMaybee

New

Post by CallMeMaybee » Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:12 am

Thanks for your response- I'm really not interested in living/ working anywhere that isn't NYC or my home state, so that's why I really only applied to those 4 schools. I have ties/ connections in both places that I think will help at least a little bit in getting a job once I graduate. And, I'm very hesitant to take out substantial loans to compound what I already have from grad school.

TTH

Diamond

Post by TTH » Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:33 am