Professional Online Poker Player?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
florida1949

Professional Online Poker Player?

Postby florida1949 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:10 pm

For all of undergrad, I have supported myself by playing online poker. I come from a low-income family (and mention this as part of my PS/diversity) and have not held what most would call a real job since high school. So I am unsure of whether or not to include this on my resume/mention it in my PS.

On one hand, I think a history of "gambling" could turn some schools off. On the other hand, I think it will look weird that I have no work experience and I'm spouting this story that I'm from a poor family etc. etc. Not to mention, playing online poker has definitely helped me develop a lot of useful skills (critical thinking, game theory, stress management, using psychology against opponents). I think it might be hard to convince adcomms of this though.

What does TLS think?

NoodleyOne

Re: Professional Online Poker Player?

Postby NoodleyOne » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Did you claim your winnings? If not that might be an issue.

justonemoregame

Postby justonemoregame » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:17 pm

I probably would not put it on the resume, unless it was legitimately in a professional capacity - tours, live tournaments in a non-jai alai joint.

I've seen a couple threads about using this in a personal statement though - you may do a forum search for that.

florida1949

Postby florida1949 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:21 pm

NoodleyOne wrote:Did you claim your winnings? If not that might be an issue.

Yes I did.

justonemoregame wrote:I probably would not put it on the resume, unless it was legitimately in a professional capacity - tours, live tournaments in a non-jai alai joint.

I've seen a couple threads about using this in a personal statement though - you may do a forum search for that.

haha @ non-jai alai, but yeah this was sort of what I was thinking.

Tiago Splitter