should i write a gpa addendum or not? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschool111

New

should i write a gpa addendum or not?

Post by lawschool111 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:58 pm

LSAC calculated my LSAC Cumulative GPA as 3.5, and my Degree GPA as 3.00.

Some background information:

I started my undergraduate career at a very early age. I graduated high school when i was 15. When I transferred over to Haas School of Business, I was actually supposed to be a sophomore in university. I was a year ahead of my grade; the competition and curve took me by surprise, which slightly contributed to my drop in GPA.

A 3.5 GPA is sufficient enough to get me into a top 20 law school, which is what I am aiming for, assuming that I get above the 160's on my LSAT.

BUT, I was thinking about writing an addendum to explain why I received a 3.00 GPA. I attended University of California, Berkeley Haas School of Business and as a business major, a majority of my classes were curved. Outside of the classes that I was required to take for my major, I received mostly B+'s and A's. If you have heard about the HAAS Curve, you would know that it is something every business major at UC Berkeley dreads.

The average GPA for core courses for HAAS business students is 3.12.

With this being said, I find myself to be at a disadvantage when it comes to my Degree GPA as there are English, Legal studies and etc majors, applying whose classes do not follow a strict curve.

Is this worth writing an addendum for, or do law schools tend to focus more on Cumulative GPAs? Should I avoid talking about this...perhaps law schools understand that students who graduate from elite business schools have to deal with strict curves?