Applying to a school (Northwestern) you don't want to attend Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gman1978

New

Applying to a school (Northwestern) you don't want to attend

Post by gman1978 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:37 pm

I'm a non-trad student applying to four schools in the southeast: Duke, UNC, Wake Forest, UVA. It is very likely that I will attend one of the first three for geographical reasons, but money may be an issue in the decision. My numbers make me overqualified (above 75th percentile) for Wake and UNC and right on the border for Duke and UVA. Someone suggested to me that Northwestern really likes non-trad applicants and that even if I have no intention of attending it is a good idea to send them an app and burn the $100 fee, in order to hopefully get a scholarship offer that I can use as leverage if it comes down to money with any of the above school. Does anyone have thoughts on this? I'm reluctant to waste my time and that of the admissions committee, and looking at Northwestern it appears that I would have to schedule an interview as well.
Last edited by gman1978 on Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bk1

Diamond

Re: Applying to a school (Northwestern) you don't want to attend

Post by bk1 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:41 pm

You should definitely apply to peer schools so you can leverage scholarship money. A lot of people apply to schools they would never attend just with the intent of leveraging.

1. It's not a waste of your time since you could turn that $100 app fee into thousands of dollars if you do get to leverage it.

2. Who cares about the adcomms' time? It's their job to sift through applications.

Tom Joad

Gold

Post by Tom Joad » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:05 pm

It is remarkable how your opinion about a school changes when you see their scholarship offer.

gman1978

New

Post by gman1978 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:51 pm