Cover Letter? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Bigsby

New

Cover Letter?

Post by Bigsby » Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:03 pm

So I've completed basically all of my app and am ready to rock once the apps are released.

The only thing missing is the cover letter and I'll admit I'm very lost with this. How did you guys do this? Did you pick a cover letter template?

How did you ADDRESS them? Did you do an individual one for each school? Like, "Dear Mr.X?" or "Dear Boston University Law Admissions Committee". Just don't know where to start here and if anyone can help me out, I would really greatly appreciate it.

Thank you!

billyez

Silver

Re: Cover Letter?

Post by billyez » Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:20 pm

Wait, what? A cover letter? I never made a cover letter for any school and I did just fine.

Bigsby

New

Post by Bigsby » Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:05 pm

Ah, sorry. Allow me to clarify.

I want to send one just because I have a lot of experience in a field besides Law in my resume and I wanted to write a cover letter to explain that to a questioning Adcomm, and how it will help me in law school. I heard from an adcomm from a T10 prestigious school that this was a very good idea. So I guess this question basically applies to those who DID write cover letters. I know they are not really necessary.

bball1997

New

Post by bball1997 » Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:12 pm

Bigsby wrote:Ah, sorry. Allow me to clarify.

I want to send one just because I have a lot of experience in a field besides Law in my resume and I wanted to write a cover letter to explain that to a questioning Adcomm, and how it will help me in law school. I heard from an adcomm from a T10 prestigious school that this was a very good idea. So I guess this question basically applies to those who DID write cover letters. I know they are not really necessary.
Is that not what personal statements are for?

NZA

Silver

Post by NZA » Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:15 pm

Do. Not. Add. A Cover Letter.

:|

Seriously.