Suffolk Law grad,127K debt,jobless,living at home, taking Qs

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Suffolkscrewed

Suffolk Law grad,127K debt,jobless,living at home, taking Qs

Postby Suffolkscrewed » Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:55 pm

I graduated in 2011 from Suffolk law after deciding to attend on a 1/3 merit scholarship. I finished in the top 1/3 of the class and could/can not find any work. I only know of a handful of kids in my class who got a paying job and only 3 people who got 'biglaw.' I currently am volunteering and have some paralegal job interviews lined up next week but with 127,000 in debt I feel like I am totally screwed. I am 26 years old and am living at home with my parents for the forseeable future. Since tomorrow will consist of looking for jobs on Craigslist/my local newspaper I thought I would at least entertain some questions.

Is this a bash towards Suffolk? Yes and no, I feel cheated but I made the choice to attend. I am hoping I can answer some questions for people considering a TT/TTT/TTTT school who might be making a similar 6 figure mistake in the near future.

Ask away? And remember, debt is very very real and can ruin the rest of your life. With interest etc I am looking at 180K.

shanejamin

Re: Suffolk Law grad,127K debt,jobless,living at home, taking Qs

Postby shanejamin » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:01 am

God damn, that really blows. Not really a question, just...sucks.

dt1708

Postby dt1708 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:05 am

Did you find work 1L or 2L summer? If so what?

MrPapagiorgio

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:07 am

In your opinion, what is the main reason that you did not secure a job at graduation? Poor OCI interviews, inability to network successfully, etc?

Also, quite interesting you posted this in the admissions forum and not the students and graduates forum.

Suffolkscrewed

Postby Suffolkscrewed » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:12 am

dt1708 wrote:Did you find work 1L or 2L summer? If so what?