Serious + stupid LOR question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
darkatillam2

Serious + stupid LOR question

Postby darkatillam2 » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:08 pm

Background:

So I went to a large public school and I am about 4 years out of UG.

I completed my degree not really being close to any of my professors (in part due to larger class sizes). I could say with confidence only one might still remember me, and he retired.

So my question is this:

When I apply to schools who want/request an academic LOR, do you think it's an option to ask a high school teacher? I say "option" because I know it's certainly not ideal, but as far as academic references go, it's either high school or nothing.

A guess a positive note is that I am sure I could get a glowing rec from one of my old English teachers I stayed in contact with after school. But again, it's high school and I'm not sure if the law school(s) I apply to would see that and look at it more negatively than if I just did two professional references even though the school(s) requests an academic one.

Thoughts?

NYCbound35

Re: Serious + stupid LOR question

Postby NYCbound35 » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:13 pm

No.

Find a class you got an A in. Email the professor with the situation, and they will write something generic for you. Do not worry, it won't hurt; LORs barely matter. Get a 2nd one from one of your supervisors at work. You'll be fine with that.

Hawkeye Pierce

Postby Hawkeye Pierce » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:15 pm

Do not go with a high school teacher..... A general rule with the personal statement is to keep everything post-high school, so I would extrapolate that to the rest of your application.

I think you're going to have to try to do your best and email some professors from college. I'm sure you'll get something.

darkatillam2

Postby darkatillam2 » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:24 pm

Alright, thanks guys. High school teacher is out.