my "should I go to law school?" thread

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
shock259

my "should I go to law school?" thread

Postby shock259 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:00 am

My background: I got accepted to CU Boulder (T1 regional school, best school in the small secondary market). I grew up in the area and have many family ties to the region. Further, I will be able to graduate with no debt because of some very fortunate circumstances. I graduated college in May of 2010, and I've been working as a paralegal for the ~8 months to get some experience in a law office before going to law school. I work at a small to midsize firm (about 30 attorneys) in DC.

Being a paralegal has been a very draining experience which has nearly dissuaded me from attending.

1) Attorneys are assholes. Without getting too specific, a lot of my job involves managing case files of participant's in health fund's that have had accidents and retained attorneys. My contact is always with the personal injury attorneys that are on these cases. And these guys are assholes. I dread having to talk to them all the time. They're rude and short with me (as everyone is in the industry really, due to the fact that billables are everything). I put off making these phones calls for as long as possible: I can get really nervous and flustered during them.

I also have to speak with opposing counsel when we are in litigation. They are slightly more civil, but are largely assholes too.

I think if I had a career where I had to argue on the phone each day like I have to do now, I would be extremely unhappy. As cliche as it sounds, I'm just not an adversarial sort of person. And my skin is too thin. I'm much more introverted. I suppose I may become more comfortable with it as I get used to it, but I don't think I will ever enjoy the phone calls.