does study abroad count as an 'degree-granting' institution?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
agora139

does study abroad count as an 'degree-granting' institution?

Postby agora139 » Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:25 pm

i studied abroad my junior year with an american college but was in europe. do i count that institution as a degree granting institution?

Re: does study abroad count as an 'degree-granting' institution?

Postby 2014 » Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:16 pm

You only have one "degree-granting" institution. At the risk of sounding obvious, it is the institution that grants your degree, i.e. wherever your BA/BS came from.

ahduth

Postby ahduth » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:38 pm

Well... a degree-granting institution is merely one that grants degrees. It doesn't necessarily need to grant the OP a degree, in order to be a degree-granting institution.

I just watched episode 4 of season 3 of the X-Files. It was called Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose. Clyde was psychic who was able to determine how people were going to die, but he could not predict any other aspect of the future. I don't think he would have been able to help us solve this riddle.

Since the OP has not provided us with any context regarding his question, it is difficult to predict the precise nature of the answer he requires. I'm willing to venture a guess, however, that since studied abroad through a degree-granting institution, he will therefore need a transcript from said institution.

Hit or miss?

kazu

Postby kazu » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:42 pm

2014 wrote:You only have one "degree-granting" institution. At the risk of sounding obvious, it is the institution that grants your degree, i.e. wherever your BA/BS came from.

TITCR

bostonian

Postby bostonian » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:48 pm

The rules on LSAC are pretty clear about whether or not you have to send transcripts from study abroad. Usually the answer is no, but it depends.
Although some schools require it anyway even if the LSAC doesn't.