Personal Statement First Draft, please critique

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

Personal Statement First Draft, please critique

Postby technomedic » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:43 pm

I wrote this PS to be used generally for all of my applications, changing it only enough to meet length requirements of different schools. Please give this first draft of about 1300 words a thorough and constructive critiquing! Thank you for your time.

This will not be an average law school personal statement because I have made more mistakes than most applicants; mistakes that drive me to be the best version of myself by graduating from law school. I will utilize my skills as a Computer Scientist, IT consultant and as a self-taught small business owner to become an attorney of the highest caliber. In the journey since my freshman mistakes I have worked to become a healthy, honest and dutiful man with passion and a purpose; I will work to defend small businesses as an Intellectual Property and Patent attorney. Through my setbacks I have learned that easy victories do not make a man, the true measure of a man is in his readiness to mend his less proud moments into a large stack of well-earned and meaningful successes from which to draw strength.