PS First Draft - Rebuilding an Engine - Please help revise! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Mr. Frodo

Bronze

PS First Draft - Rebuilding an Engine - Please help revise!

Post by Mr. Frodo » Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:45 pm

This is my first attempt at a PS relating the rebuilding of my engine last summer to my qualities as a person and student (and prospective law school student). I know its rough, needs upgraded vocabulary usage and much better transitioning, but I wanted to put this base first so I can get some comments to incorporate while I'm revising for a second draft. All help is very, very much appreciated. This is especially the case because I literally have no college friends IRL that know anything about law school. :shock:

Thanks! :D

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Psshhh, crrrr, silence. This was the sequence of sounds signaling that my car’s engine had finally had enough of my daily commute to Philadelphia and back in the 100-degree heat. As I glided silently into the shoulder lane and grappled with the e-brake lever to bring the now smoking and powerless vehicle to a stop, I was overcome with grief. “How much was this going to cost me?,” and “Was this the end of my car, the single largest item I had ever worked for and paid for?” were just a couple of the questions whizzing through my mind as I emerged from my 1996 Saab 900 to look under the hood at what just minutes ago was a working engine. I knew very little about cars up until this point, and little did I know what I was getting myself into when I decided, “I’m going to fix this myself.”