Parents Refuse to Fill out Fafsa

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
thecynic69

Parents Refuse to Fill out Fafsa

Postby thecynic69 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:28 pm

Hi All,

I cannot get either of my parents to fill out the financial aid forms for Yale Law School. Regrettably, I think this is a fairly common problem, but I am having trouble getting good search results since there are a whole lot of "I don't know" type responses to these queries, as well as off topic posts (due to the fact that financial aid related search terms turn up a lot of stuff).

A little bit of background. I am a deferred student who will start at Yale Law this fall. In previous years, I have been exempt from the non-custodial parent requirement, as I have had no contact with my mom since 1999 (she did not pay child support--literally, no contact). I was "raised" by my father, and he was kind enough to fill out my financial aid forms (as the custodial parent) while I was an undergrad, and even last year when I was first applying to Yale; however, my father has since moved out of the country, and we are no longer in touch. To be honest, we were never really close, and our relationship soured when, last year, he failed to fill out his portion of the financial aid forms at Harvard Law School (as a result, I likely would not have been able to get finaid at Harvard--it ended up being a moot point, however, as I chose to attend Yale).