Offshore mature student Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
FMSaigon

New

Offshore mature student

Post by FMSaigon » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:19 am

I have been working almost 20 years, currently based in Hong Kong heading a compliance team at hedge fund/private equity firm. I did an OK Canadian MBA way back when, picked up CFA and more recently a distance finance/ financial law MSc through London SOAS. I have an HK qualified colleague who took NY bar exam out of HK while working at a US firm. I am considering some distance law studies and taking California bar exam, as an extra qualification. It would be a pretty big undertaking and i guess somewhat questionable value, but would like to study. In any case couldn't see payback from full time back to law school commitment.

ph14

Gold

Re: Offshore mature student

Post by ph14 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:55 am