Best Law Schools for URMs

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
BlakcMajikc

Best Law Schools for URMs

Postby BlakcMajikc » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:05 am

First, I tried to do a search for this topic and failed miserably, so if someone has (or can find) a link to this topic, it would be greatly appreciated.

To cut to the chase, I want to know the "best experience tier ones" for URMs. I don't care too much about admit numbers, but I'm looking to see if there are any schools that really stand out for the experience they offer to URMs and particularly AAs.

For background info on me: I am applying to a good # of schools (LSAC fee waiver), 20+ apps from all east coast schools in the top 35 or so. I have a 3.38 and a 161, URM = black female. I have my MBA. Waiting for my Dec LSAT retake.

I am in at W&L and W&M and waiting on all of the others. I wanted to know how to get the inside scoop on schools from a URM perspective. I will visit almost every school I get into (most are east coast). I have heard negative things about the conservative culture at W&L and not good things about Duke, but what's the best way to discover the culture of these schools? Is the only way visiting?

2Serious4Numbers

Re: Best Law Schools for URMs

Postby 2Serious4Numbers » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:19 am

It's law school, not an exotic vacation. Your small URM segment/ "experience" is the exact same experience as the other 200 white kids in your class. Unless you want an intercity atmosphere or some other specific aspect just do your research and visit. I seriously doubt schools cater all that much to their urm students in terms of providing a specialized or altered "experience" for them

Rand M.

Postby Rand M. » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:23 am