Schools and prograns for health law/policy Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
AronJW

New

Schools and prograns for health law/policy

Post by AronJW » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:20 am

So my career goals are definitely geared toward Health Care Law and Policy. My school choice has become rather complicated.

I want to pursue a dual degree, probably a JD/MPH or JD/MHA. I have a lot of health care experience, and a pretty impressive resume but a mediocre LSAT.

3.74 GPA, dual bachelor's degree cum laude, bilingual (English and Spanish) 161 LSAT, tons of WE (40 hrs+ throughout UG.)

My choices are as follows:

Arizona (In state tuition, JD/MPH program offered for first time in 2010)
Arizona State (In state tuition, probable scholarships, Health law concentration but no dual degree option)
Colorado (love the location, offers a JD/MHA in Philosophy, where I can focus on Bioethics)
UC Davis (health law concentration, but no dual degree)
UCLA (among my top choices, but quite a reach. Not holding my breath)
Maryland (nationally prominent health law program and JD/MPH, but probably double the cost of AZ)
Washington (pretty much same as Maryland but with a much better Law school)
Stanford (super reach, but their JD/MS program is absolutely perfect for me)

Arizona remains my top choice because it is in my home state, and still offers the program I want. However there are schools that offer better programs in other states. (Washington, Maryland, Stanford, UCLA) but even if I do get in, they are far more expensive.

So what are everybody's thoughts? I'd appreciate any advice I can get.

Learning Hand

New

Re: Schools and prograns for health law/policy

Post by Learning Hand » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:23 am

Minnesota has a program. Too cold for you?
Last edited by Learning Hand on Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

truthchase

New

Post by truthchase » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:24 am