Offered Fulbright--defer or reapply?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What do?

Ride out the waitlist and ditch Fulbright
No votes
Total votes: 19

Offered Fulbright--defer or reapply?

Postby stoopkid13 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:41 pm

I've been awarded a Fulbright ETA grant. I am also waitlisted at Harvard, in at NYU, Columbia, Boalt, Michigan, Penn, and Duke but no serious money at any (nothing more than half-tuition and no named scholarships). I have a 3.7/172. I took the LSAT once this October. I'd like to do some type of PI law, but I'm not totally set on what form that would take.

The decision I am struggling with is what to do about Fulbright given my waitlist. Should I take the Fulbright and reapply next year, hoping to get another bite at the YHS apple? I could retake--I don't think I studied for the LSAT as much as I could have but my actual score was about where my PTs were. That being said, I think the bigger weakness is my GPA and not much I can do there. LSN doesn't show much of an increase in odds at YS with a higher LSAT, marginally so at H. My softs are fairly strong already, but I feel like my application won't be any weaker by adding a Fulbright. But if there isn't much added benefit, do I just take the Fulbright and defer at my top choice acceptance to save myself the grief and enjoy my Fulbright year? Or do I go straight to law school and hope to get off the waitlist at H this cycle? I am reluctant to turn down the opportunity to live and work abroad on a personal level, but I also recognize the Fulbright ETA doesn't have a lot of value added for my legal career.

Re: Offered Fulbright--defer or reapply?

Postby CanadianWolf » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:44 pm

Talk to Harvard admissions.

Postby Indifference » Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:45 am

Why not just do the Fulbright cause lol Fulbright and then reapply? Seems you want to do it. Just do it. Law school will be here in a year :)

Postby twenty » Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:59 am