Biochem Student Interested in Patent Law, Need Honest Help!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
santiagom2

Biochem Student Interested in Patent Law, Need Honest Help!

Postby santiagom2 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:28 am

I don't need any of the "law school is suicide" crap honestly, Ive seen it all. I want to be a lawyer and I gotta do the best with what I got, end of story, so help me out here please!

I have a bachelors degree in Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology. Most law school advice online seems to be tailored towards BigLaw. Personally, I want to be involved in a kind of law that allows me to utilize my science background and combine it with my love for writing and speaking. I have an honest passion for rhetoric, and I am seriously considering getting into patent law (Plan B, health care). I am currently on my year off, working as a paralegal, trying to get into primarily a school in my state of PA.

Okay, now here's the catch. I'm never going to make it into the T14. I can retake the LSAT a bajillion times, but my GPA is always going to hold me back. I was taking 21 credits a semester, taking stuff like Microbiology, Virology, Molecular Biology, and Organic Chemistry, and had to deal with divorce and custody battles in my family. The best I can do is get into a decent law school, stay local, try to play up my science background, and hope that specializing will help me stand out in the job market in 3 years. But that is okay with me, I want to be a lawyer. I don't mind just staying in Pennsylvania, and Im not striving to work in a general BigLaw firm. I don't mind gradually chipping away student debt if it means I get to have a good education and do something I love.