Go American law school and be a barrister in Hong Kong Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
xiaofashix86

New

Go American law school and be a barrister in Hong Kong

Post by xiaofashix86 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:58 am

I am a chinese student and want to practice the law in Hong Kong as a barrister. I prefer doing the litigation.
LSAT 168 GPA above average (3.7) Major Chemistry.
Question:
1. Should I go American law school? Will it help me achieve my goal?
I don't wanna go to UK for a LLB program and HKU JD for its weak prestige. I know most barristers in Hong Kong graduate from Oxbridge....But they just have a LLB......
2. Should I ED Duke /UVA/Umichigan or go RD ?
3. Is that possible for a Chinese to do the litigation in America? Friends told me Corporate has no fun at all! If it is impossible, I would go back to Hong Kong immediately...
4. Canadian law school.....?

MistakenGenius

Silver

Post removed.

Post by MistakenGenius » Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:20 am

Post removed.
Last edited by MistakenGenius on Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

McAvoy

Gold

Re: Go American law school and be a barrister in Hong Kong

Post by McAvoy » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:09 pm

MistakenGenius wrote:You also need to be aware that law school requires mastery of the English language, or it's bound to be very difficult for you. your post seems like you are not completely fluent in the language. I worry that you're in for a very difficult time in an American law School.

6lehderjets

Bronze

Post by 6lehderjets » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:27 pm

McAvoy wrote:
MistakenGenius wrote:You also need to be aware that law school requires mastery of the English language, or it's bound to be very difficult for you. your post seems like you are not completely fluent in the language. I worry that you're in for a very difficult time in an American law School.
Base this off of some verifiable info, not just your misinformed opinions.

McAvoy

Gold