Columbia v Chicago v Duke For A Transfer Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Columbia, Chicago, or Duke for a T40 transfer? (Based on what I've said below)

Columbia
50%
Chicago
32%
Duke
18%

Total votes: 34

p950

New

Columbia v Chicago v Duke For A Transfer

Post by p950 » Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:18 pm

I'm a transfer student leaving a T40. Top decile with LR. Not a K-JD; I have prior work experience. Would prefer litigation over transactional work. As far as markets go, I think I'd like to be in CA (no ties) or maybe TX (ditto). I'm also fine with going to NYC if that's where the jobs are. Personality-wise, I'd say I'm affable and laid-back by default, although I work hard when I need to.

I have a choice to make between Duke, Chicago, and Columbia. Transfers don't get merit aid, so I'd be looking at sticker at all of these. Coming in as a transfer, I'm not as prestige-oriented as I used to be (or as some 0Ls may be), so take that into account. Having already done a year I'm convinced that any of these schools would provide an excellent education.

Duke would be really easy to attend since I have family in the Raleigh / Durham area. My "move" would be very simple since I'd likely stay with them - that means I don't have to take chances playing roommate roulette. Cost of living would be low for the same reason, and the weather is generally nice (although I hear NC had a bad winter this year). Attending Duke would probably result in the lowest initial stress and lowest overall stress. Downside is that Duke's numbers aren't as good as either Columbia or Chicago.