. Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mmbt123

New

Post by mmbt123 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:30 pm

Last edited by mmbt123 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

megagnarley

Bronze

Re: Where should I go T10-14

Post by megagnarley » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:33 pm

mmbt123 wrote:Hi all,

Where should I go in the T10-14? I'm waitlisted at a the T7s.

I will probably have to pay close to sticker at all these T10-14 (though my parents will cover 50-100% of living costs). I may be able to get a little more money at UCLA or USC but I am not liking their employment stats...

My thinking right now is that I'll go gain some biglaw experience for a handful of years then try to move into a government position.

I have a liberal arts degree and know that my chances for meaningful employment are slim with what I have. I'll basically be doing admin type stuff forever if I don't move onto law school.
Numbers? Retake?

otnemem

Bronze

Post by otnemem » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:42 pm

What part of the country do you want to work in?

mmbt123

New

Post by mmbt123 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:45 pm

Last edited by mmbt123 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

suralin

Diamond

Post by suralin » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:55 pm

mmbt123 wrote:3.6 / 169

This is my third score (but I took 2 of them several years ago so I could retake). I suppose I could retake in the summer since my worst section was games and conventional wisdom is that it's the easiest to improve upon. But, I am a few years out of college, weary of the position I'm in, and eager to get on w/ life knowing that I am definitely interested in law.

I want do biglaw b/c I've heard it offers very good training which other employers, like the us gov, recognize. But at the same time, I've been reading some other TLS threads and people seem to be saying that T10-14 at sticker is not a great idea and that biglaw positions are soul-sucking gigs without much stability.