PT v. FT Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
WilliamMary123

New

PT v. FT

Post by WilliamMary123 » Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:15 pm

Hi everyone,

I have a considerable dilemma on my hands, and as my first post, I'm hoping I can get some opinions.

I graduated from William and Mary UG last year and currently live in Central NJ. Since graduation, I've worked as a paralegal for a biglaw firm in NYC, making ~50k/year.

I applied to a wide array of schools, got rejected from some, and into others.

For me, being in state in NJ, its really come down to Rutgers-Camden, however, since applying, I've been thinking it may be a better idea to remain at my current firm (who will allow me to transfer to our Philly office, if I so choose) while going to Rutgers part-time. I've been admitted to the full-time program with a very small scholarship (~3k), but Rutgers says I can switch to part-time, as long as I do it soon.

By way of background, I have a pretty good reputation in my current office, and I am over $100k in debt from UG. This is one of my main motivations for going part-time, though I realize that going full-time puts you at a much higher advantage.

So, I'm wondering what you all might do..?

Any ideas/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Specifically, I'm wodering if going part-time and staying at my current firm might put me in a better position to try and get an associate position there one day than going full-time will, among other things, including the debt issue.

Thanks!

Leo_Law

New

Re: PT v. FT

Post by Leo_Law » Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:54 pm

Personally, I would be tempted to go down to part time mainly because of the amount of UG debt. If you attend full time, you can't work the first year. If you attend part time, you will not only require much less in loans for CoL, but you would be able to continue paying on your current loans if you chose to do so.

MrAnon

Gold

Post by MrAnon » Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:05 pm