UConn vs. St. John's

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which school?

St. John's
No votes
Total votes: 11

UConn vs. St. John's

Postby _confunded_ » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:56 pm

Alright, so I'm having trouble deciding between these two schools and I thought maybe you guys could give me some feedback. :)

As a NH resident I get 75% tuition for the first year plus a $10,000 scholarship, bringing it down to $26,240
For 2nd and 3rd years I'll be eligible for in-state, which is $20,712, bringing my total for 3 years up to $67,664
The cost of living in Hartford is much lower than NYC and I could probably get a decent apartment that allows cats for $700-$800 a month.
Other expenses would also be cheaper than NYC, so I could probably get away with spending about $800/month on food, gas, utilities, etc.
I LOVED the campus, it was definitely my favorite of the four schools I visited recently.
It's perfectly halfway between my home town and NYC, so I'd have access to both (I currently go to school in Rochester, NY, so a 2 hour drive is nothing for me).
Ranked much higher than St. John's.
Job prospects are not GREAT, but better than St. John's and it has great placement in the New England area.
From what I read, it has a tight-knit student body, which is a plus.
A big con is that Hartford has a higher crime rate than New York.

St. John's
They gave me $30,000/year with a top 40% stipulation, so tuition for three years would be $42,840 total (assuming I can stay in the top 40% and obviously not counting tuition increases). EDIT: I just got a response to my negotiation letter and they're increasing my scholarship to $40,000/year with the same stipulations.
The cost of living is much higher than in Hartford. If I got a studio in Brooklyn or Queens it would still probably be over $40,000 for three years just in rent.
Other living expenses would be more $$$ too, so I'd likely be spending over a grand a month on food, transportation, utilities etc.