Chicago vs. UCLA vs. BYU

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dustinsc

Chicago vs. UCLA vs. BYU

Postby dustinsc » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:38 pm

I've got $60,000 total to Chicago, $120,000 to UCLA and full-tution renewable to BYU. I also have options of paying sticker at Columbia and Harvard, although with the scholarship to Chicago, I don't know why I would. I went to BYU for my undergrad. I'm not particularly interested in getting into a big law firm because I value time much more than money, and, although I can handle it, I generally avoid high pressure situations. I'm not even sure that I want to work in a law firm at all, so I'm interested in pursuing careers in public service or in-house.

With all that in mind, what are your thoughts on each of these schools as a fit for me? Will the prestige of Chicago be worth the added debt considering my career goals? Would going to the same school from which I hold a degree make any difference in getting a job? How competitive is UCLA? Any thoughts would be helpful.

CanadianWolf

Re: Chicago vs. UCLA vs. BYU

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:45 pm

Since you are uncertain as to whether or not you want to practice law and, in any case, do not want biglaw, then take the scholarship money & the freedom that it gives. UCLA, Chicago & BYU are good options in your situation & for your interests, in my opinion. Will you enjoy Los Angeles after four years at BYU ? If so, that may be your best option in light of the $120,000 scholarship; otherwise, if addicted and committed to the Morman lifestyle, then a full tuition scholarship to BYU makes sense.

eaa1537

Postby eaa1537 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:45 pm