Good majors for Corporate Law?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Theserjo

Good majors for Corporate Law?

Postby Theserjo » Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:54 am

I'm majoring in Political Science right now, but I was wondering how to gear myself towards a career in corporate law? I was thinking about minoring in Economics as well. Any information would greatly help.

St.Remy

Re: Good majors for Corporate Law?

Postby St.Remy » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:06 am

Theserjo wrote:I'm majoring in Political Science right now, but I was wondering how to gear myself towards a career in corporate law? I was thinking about minoring in Economics as well. Any information would greatly help.

Your chances at getting a good corporate law gig are pretty directly tied to the quality of the law school you attend, so just major in whatever you do well at. High GPS -> Good law school -> Corporate law job. If you see yourself transitioning from being a corporate lawyer to being a more general corporate official at some point in the future I would guess that Business would be the most helpful major, though I'm sure Econ would be fine too.

Knock

Postby Knock » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:07 am

Theserjo wrote:I'm majoring in Political Science right now, but I was wondering how to gear myself towards a career in corporate law? I was thinking about minoring in Economics as well. Any information would greatly help.

TCR is whatever major you can get the highest GPA in, period.

/thread

skoobily doobily

Postby skoobily doobily » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:56 am

A background in finance never hurt anybody. But work experience in the field would be much more valuable.

kazu

Postby kazu » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:58 am

But don't do finance if you suck at it. A bad GPA does hurt people in law school admissions.

2ofspades

Postby 2ofspades » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:03 pm

Theserjo wrote:I was wondering how to gear myself towards a career in corporate law?

2+ years WE in business

Informative