Harvard or Yale- For work outside Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which one?

Yale
48%
Harvard
52%

Total votes: 71

elmagic

New

Harvard or Yale- For work outside Law

Post by elmagic » Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:45 am

So up until a few days ago I was pretty set on Yale, because well, Yale is Yale. However after talking to people, mostly friends of the family and such, I have been mulling over the idea of Harvard.

I have an undergrad/masters degree in economics, and have been working abroad in finance/consulting for the last year or so. Consulting is definitely not my thing long term, but I definitely want to stay involved in finance. I know a lot of you will probably suggest I pursue an MBA, but at this point that doesn't really interest me, nor do I have the work experience necessary.

So here is my point, a relative of mine who is well involved in the legal field, and also the field I am looking to get into suggests that Yale is pretty much the end all if I want to reach the most prestigious levels of the legal field, but Harvard will get you to the most prestigious levels of the field. As a Harvard guy he is definitely biased though.

I'd also add that eventually I'd be interested in becoming involved in politics.

So given my goals is there a wrong choice here?
Last edited by elmagic on Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

TransferQ

New

Re: Harvard or Yale- For work outside Law

Post by TransferQ » Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:58 am

Check which finance institutions interview at the schools (probably the same). In which case, go with Yale b/c less competition for the slots. Or, you might have to start off at a V5 NY firm and lateral...in which case Yale gives you the best shot to get into a V5.

elmagic

New

Post by elmagic » Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:28 pm