UF v. Miami... and is 26 old?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mps

UF v. Miami... and is 26 old?

Postby mps » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:41 pm

If i am as close to 100% sure as possible that I want to practice in South FL after law school, should I go with Miami or UF? I also might be interested in a clerkship, which school would give the better shot at that? (i know they're impossible to get, but reach for the stars, right?).

I've been offered the 23,000/yr at Miami, but it has the 3.2 gpa stipulation. Nothing from UF, but i am a FL resident. Money isn't a factor, but honestly, I'd feel pretty awesome if I managed to spend less than originally anticipated on law school.

Also, I'm 26, graduated college several years ago, and don't want to be surrounded by a bunch of 23 year olds with no real world experience... nothing against 23 year olds, i'd just feel kinda creepy hanging out with them all the time. Which school do you think would be better considering that? Do you think either school has a good number of people/good environment for slightly older students?

Thank you so much for your help!!

eudaimondaimon

Re: UF v. Miami... and is 26 old?

Postby eudaimondaimon » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:53 pm

mps wrote:Also, I'm 26, graduated college several years ago, and don't want to be surrounded by a bunch of 23 year olds with no real world experience... nothing against 23 year olds, i'd just feel kinda creepy hanging out with them all the time. Which school do you think would be better considering that? Do you think either school has a good number of people/good environment for slightly older students?

THEN DON'T GO TO UF.

Seriously. The university's student population makes up ~49% of Gainesville's population. I am a 23-year-old and I'm sick-to-death of 23-year-olds.

mps

Postby mps » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:14 pm

hahaha, thanks... i was worried about that! good to hear from someone actually there, but also a bummer...

lawduder