WAMC? Transitioning from pre-vet to law Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
toji

New

WAMC? Transitioning from pre-vet to law

Post by toji » Tue Aug 02, 2022 12:58 pm

Hi all!

I graduated with a B.S. in Animal Science (originally on the path to vet med) but recently discovered my passion for law. I graduated with a fairly low GPA (oof) but have been in a pre-health post-bac program for the past year taking upper div science courses with straight A's and raised my cGPA up to 3.1. I know a high LSAT can help offset my low cGPA a bit but will that even help? I was also wondering if law schools would consider my STEM background when looking at my GPA. Also, do I even have a shot at a t14 school even with a 170+ LSAT score? Other than my stats, I'm confident that I can write a compelling personal statement and garner strong LORs.

I'm also still in the midst of finishing up with my post-bac program and haven't taken the LSAT yet. A friend in law school told me that I could apply by February 2023 the latest but I read that submitting your app earlier is better. Is this true? I would rather take my time studying for the LSAT for a few months and working on all my essays instead of trying to cram everything to fit into this application cycle.

Sorry if this post is super long!! Thanks for reading this far and any advice is appreciated!

talons2250

Bronze

Re: WAMC? Transitioning from pre-vet to law

Post by talons2250 » Tue Aug 02, 2022 2:53 pm

Take your time to study properly for the LSAT, because you'll need a high score to get into a decent school.