Chance Me 3.5 GPA T14 Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!

Which is my best but also most realistic option?

Chicago
No votes
Columbia
No votes
Cornell
No votes
Duke
No votes
Nortwestern
17%
Pennsylvania
No votes
Boston
No votes
Notredame
33%
Other (Please Comment)
50%

Total votes: 6

APerez114

New

Chance Me 3.5 GPA T14

Post by APerez114 » Tue Feb 22, 2022 8:49 am

Hi!
I’m South American (think Brazil or Argentina) with a 3.50 GPA LLB from my country (B+/2:1/8,50) and currently pursuing an MSc in Finance from my country, too (my GPA here may vary between 3.0 and 3.6).

Work:
I have two years of experience as junior associate in a Top National Law Firm and want to break in US Big Law by doing a JD-MBA. I also worked nine months in two different counties in law related jobs and six months in an internship at a local court. Now I’ll spend a year working on consulting in my country in a middle size and not well known firm.

Extracurriculars:
I had been in two student associations during the LLB, did an exchange program in an important university (think Australia, NZ, Netherlands, Singapore), been a teacher assistant in one subject and took an additional law diploma during undergrad in a topic related to Technology Law.

I also did another exchange program during the MSc in a great university (think France, Denmark)

My questions:

1) What are my chances for T14 JD-MBA Program (Nortwestern-Pennsylvania-Chicago-Columbia-Cornell-Duke) with this background? Would having a 3.6 GPA in LLB have improved a lot my chances in these universities?

2) What other options should I consider if my GPA is too low for T14? Are Notredame or Boston JD-MBAs good options for my long term goal?

3) What are my chances of obtaining a scholarship?

4) I also want to know if submitting an LSAT is mandatory for JD-MBA programmes or the GMAT/GRE is enough.