Chance me:169/terrible GPA/international student/n-urm Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
wtyman

New

Chance me:169/terrible GPA/international student/n-urm

Post by wtyman » Fri Sep 03, 2021 4:52 am

I majored in finance and got 2.9/4. Now I am studying law as my minor /second major and got 3.91/4. My current program only has ten-ish courses so I guess that still makes me a splitter. I've got 169 in the April LSAT-flex and several good LORs. Do I have a chance at T-20 schools like WashU/UT? Planning on an ED to WashU. How about T-30 schools like UMN/Emory/GW?
2021 cycle is brutal, and I’m worried this coming cycle won’t be any easier. Any suggestions will be of great help. Thanks in advance.

crazywafflez

Silver

Re: Chance me:169/terrible GPA/international student/n-urm

Post by crazywafflez » Sat Sep 04, 2021 10:38 pm

Is your GPA from an international school? If so, it won't count (they'll just give you a rating of superior, above average, average, or below average). I'm not sure what your GPA will be, but I'd toss an ED to NW and take your shot. I wouldn't ED to WashU or UT unless they come with scholarships.
Are you an American? If so, go to any T1 school that gives you a substantial scholarship in the region you want to practice (you want Tennessee, go to UTk over higher ranked Bama- nobody in TN cares that Bama, ASU or UNC are ranked higher than it, they are gonna hire UTk grads). If you go to a T20 school, you'll have a wider net to cast rather than just the state where your school is. Vandy for the South, UCLA Cali, UT for TX; others like USC, WashU, ND and to an extent BU/BC, also do very well in their areas.