Chances for 3.75 180 Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Superrsplitter

New

Chances for 3.75 180

Post by Superrsplitter » Mon Feb 01, 2021 1:08 pm

I graduated Magna Cum Laude and I also have a master's and a master's GPA of 4.0. Basically, what I want to know is how badly is my GPA setting me back? In my last year or so of uni, when I decided I wanted to go to law school, I got all A's. Will this trend be noticed by admissions and how much will it help me? My softs are pretty average I would say. What are my chances at scholly at t-6? Thanks.

axiomaticapiary

New

Re: Chances for 3.75 180

Post by axiomaticapiary » Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:53 pm

A 180 is great, but it can't carry you wherever you want (LSAT inflation is a thing).

I would bet good money that you get into at least one of CCN, possibly H. A Hamilton/Rubenstein type scholarship is pretty unlikely (this is the equivalent of getting into Yale). Maybe you could get one of the public service full rides if you have an exemplary public service commitment, although it doesn't sound like this is the case based on what you're saying. GPA trends aren't really a thing.

My prediction for your final choices: in at one or two of HCCN with not very much money, great deals at multiple lower T14s (Duke, Michigan, Virginia, Cornell), full ride to your flagship state school.

You could make bank tutoring the LSAT with a 180. $50 an hour, you completely control your schedule and work from home. (The downside of LSAT inflation is devaluing your 180, but the upside is more people who will pay for your 180 expertise.) If there's anything you've ever wanted to do in your life before you start law school, consider tutoring for a bit and doing that.

crazywafflez

Silver

Post by crazywafflez » Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:56 pm