GPA 16/20, LSAT 178, International, non-URM, F Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cheneeeerica

New

GPA 16/20, LSAT 178, International, non-URM, F

Post by cheneeeerica » Tue Dec 29, 2020 4:47 pm

Hello,
I'm a foreign student in a French university. My average GPA is around 16/20, and my LSAT is 178. I'm going to apply in 2021 fall. I don't know what grade will LSAC give me. I would like to know what are my chances to get into T14 with scholarships : ) I feel very uncertain currently because I don't know how LSAC views French GPA and I don't have super strong softs.
Thank you all in advance for your help!

crazywafflez

Silver

Re: GPA 16/20, LSAT 178, International, non-URM, F

Post by crazywafflez » Wed Dec 30, 2020 11:34 am

Apply widely. I think they'll give you an above-average (good news, it won't really hold you back).
I'd apply to H on down and possibly apply to Vandy/UT/UCLA depending on where you want to practice (although, I'd be a bit weary of even these- you effectively need biglaw if you want a visa afterwards). I think you'll see some good things from G'town and some other schools in the T14. Also, H gives internationals some love as well, so make sure to apply broadly to basically every T14- your cycle (and scholarships) will be kinda unpredictable. I'd also email the schools asking for an application fee waiver. Your LSAT is by far your most important part of your application. Your GPA will effectively not count, and while I've heard H cares about Superior ratings, I haven't seen any concrete proof one way or the other and anecdotally, I have friends who have gotten into even S with not as great foreign grades but killer LSATs (whoever, they were a unicorn, so I wouldn't lean towards S). Best of luck and don't fret too much, you'll get into a lot of places and probs with some good offers.

cheneeeerica

New

Post by cheneeeerica » Wed Dec 30, 2020 6:08 pm