4.24/170 New to this site Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
justsum1

New

4.24/170 New to this site

Post by justsum1 » Sun Dec 06, 2020 3:41 am

Will be graduating with a 4.24 in poli sci from a large public. Got a 170 on the LSAT. I'm a 12 year military veteran, have a 6 month internship from a congressman, and have 2 really solid rec letters from professors and 1 from the congressman. I also don't have to negotiate scholarships because I have the GI Bill and Yellow Ribbon program that will cover my full tuition.

CONS: I'm a white male in his early 30's and 40ish of my credits were credited from the military. My school is still giving me summa cum laude and LSAC is still giving me a 4.24 weighted - 4.0 non weighted.

I'd really like to get into a T1. I'm new to this site and honestly haven't talked to many people about this. What do you all think?

nixy

Gold

Re: 4.24/170 New to this site

Post by nixy » Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:24 am

You will absolutely get into a T1, and should be admitted to almost all of them. Being a white male in your early 30s won't have any effect on your application whatsoever. It's not remotely a con.

As for the military credits, at Yale you might get some faculty reviewers being snooty about where your credits came from, but generally, what your GPA is overwhelmingly more important than where it's from. (To be clear: there is some indication that having gone to a very top school can help somewhat, but the absence of a top school won't actively hurt you. It means you just don't have a very slight bump that someone else might. And military experience is often a decent plus factor.)

LSAT and UGPA are by far the most important elements of your application, and yours are great. You should check out mylsn.info, which indicates that you have a good shot at admission everywhere from CCN down.

crazywafflez

Silver