What are my chances to Upenn, Cornell, UCB(GMAT730.former engineer) Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
lubei

New

What are my chances to Upenn, Cornell, UCB(GMAT730.former engineer)

Post by lubei » Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:45 am

Hello everyone,

I graduated from a top15 University and majored in Engineering(with bachelor and master degree) with GPA 3.4+.
I have worked as a hardware engineer in both America and Asia for years. Two years ago I got a GMAT score(730) and didn't take LSAT.

I am currently considering top law schools(Cornell,Upenn,UCB,CLS). What are the chances to get into them.Welcome all suggestions with honesty!

About me: 30(age), asian male.

dvlthndr

Bronze

Re: What are my chances to Upenn, Cornell, UCB(GMAT730.former engineer)

Post by dvlthndr » Wed Aug 05, 2020 1:19 am

Honestly? Your odds are bad.

Very few schools accept the GMAT, and some only accept it if you are applying to a dual-degree program (e.g., Chicago Law JD + Chicago Booth MBA). Similar to applying with a GRE score, there just aren't a lot of data points to look at. But the assumptions are usually (1) you are less likely to get scholarships and your overall admission chances are reduced; (2) your GPA is at least as important as a normal applicant, since it will still get factored into the school's medians; and (3) a best case scenario is that your GMAT/GRE score is treated like an LSAT score with an equivalent "percentile" (i.e., a GMAT score of 730 is ~95 percentile, which would be like a 168 on the LSAT).