Chances at a T14 School Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
em114

New

Chances at a T14 School

Post by em114 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:57 am

Hi all, I’m very new to this forum so bare with me but I was wondering what my chances were at a T14 law school with my current stats:

Currently I’m a first semester senior at a big state university in MA
Major: Political Science and Anthropology
LSAT: Enrolling in a live course and taking this summer (hopefully), aiming for 170+
GPA: 3.92
Other stuff: Non profit work for the homeless, Red cross volunteering, research assistant for a professor who has YLS ties

Possibly also counts but I’m also a minority woman and the first of my family to achieve a degree, I’m also a slightly older student but not by much.

Thanks!

The Lsat Airbender

Gold

Re: Chances at a T14 School

Post by The Lsat Airbender » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:24 pm

Your LSAT is basically dispositive here - everything else about your profile is awesome and you're live for Yale or a T14 full-ride with a high enough score. Don't rush the test, or the application process.

Sackboy

Silver

Post by Sackboy » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:38 pm

As LSA said, your LSAT could mean that you're stuck attending Minnesota with a half-scholarship, or it could mean that you're attending Chicago with a Ruby/going to Yale. Don't rush the test. If you don't get what you want, sit out a cycle and retake.

crazywafflez

Silver

Post by crazywafflez » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:51 pm

Hey, your LSAT score will be the most important part of your application. Are you a minority or a URM? I'm a minority, and first to get a degree in my family as well, but not a URM, so that did not help. If you are a URM (under represented minority) you will get a boost. Your GPA is good, so that should help you in general! Your softs are fine- most folks will have these softs who are aiming for most T1 schools.