Blue collar paw schools Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Bluehair

New

Blue collar paw schools

Post by Bluehair » Tue Jan 28, 2020 8:52 pm

So, I’m 61 years old and a 100% disabled veteran. I’m looking for a part time program. I’m waiting on my January LSAT results. I feel like I got robbed by the LSAC over my GPA conversion. They dropped it much lower because I was given credit but no grades for my military schools. I also took more undergrad courses at another school after I graduated and had a 4.0 there but the LSAC doesn’t count them because they consider it graduate work. I’m a former congressional staffer. I just want to do Pro Bono work for poor people such as VA/SSDI disability, chase off bill collectors, maybe minor criminal stuff. I don’t need income, I just need to be able to practice law. I get the feeling everyone here is bright and wants to go to the highest ranked school they can to have a career, I’m just hopeful someone may be able to suggest a school that’s more of a blue collar program with a part time offering.

dvlthndr

Bronze

Re: Blue collar paw schools

Post by dvlthndr » Tue Jan 28, 2020 10:00 pm

U.S. News keeps a list of the "best" part time programs:
https://www.usnews.com/best-graduate-sc ... w-rankings

For what you want to do, rankings don't really matter. Pick a school near the place you want to live and work (e.g., apply to Fordham if you want to be around New York, Georgetown if you want to be in DC, Temple if you want to be in Pennsylvania, etc.). Most part-time programs are in lower-ranked "regional" schools that only have good job placement in the surrounding area.

Going to any of the schools offering part-time programs is usually a terrible financial choice. The financial hit can be mitigated with a nice scholarship or a good loan-repayment program. But make sure you have a plan.

QContinuum