Chances for significant scholarships/financial aid in t14? (3.85/171) Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!

New

Chances for significant scholarships/financial aid in t14? (3.85/171)

Post by 2651704 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:01 am

I am an international student who will graduate from a top 20 US liberal arts school next year. I have a predicted GPA of 3.85 and 171 on the LSAT. I am planning to apply to all T14 schools. Additionally, and I don't know how relevant this might be, but I have an interesting story of how I grew up in a really small town (almost a village) in India, learned English, prepared for the SAT and applied to colleges in the US without any external help, and got a full ride for undergrad. Even in college, I work ~20 hours a week to sustain myself, on top of maintaining a (relatively) good GPA. My family cannot really afford to pay for law school so I was hoping to apply for significant financial aid (close to a full ride or full tuition, at the least). I might take a loan to cover any remaining expenses. All things considered, how are my chances at T14?

GFox345

Bronze

Re: Chances for significant scholarships/financial aid in t14? (3.85/171)

Post by GFox345 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:51 am

Have you actually received a 171 on the LSAT already, or is that a "predicted" number in addition to your GPA? If that's the case, I will say preliminarily that predicted LSAT scores are notorious for turning out lower than expected given the stresses of test day, an off-the-wall logic game, etc. Do not make any significant moves with regard to your future in law school without knowing your actual LSAT score. Keep your head in the game on LSAT prep until you finally get the score you need. The logistical stuff will fall in line once that score is in place. If you do under-perform your average on practice tests, retake.