166 LSAT/3.47 GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Tpb5493

New

166 LSAT/3.47 GPA

Post by Tpb5493 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:23 pm

I had some disappointing news today... I underperformed my PT average by 6 points. I scored a 166, and as the title says my GPA is only a 3.47. I'm looking at t30 schools for the most part. Do I stand a chance at Vanderbilt or Duke? I really don't want to retake as I work 60-70 hours per week and studying on top of that can be difficult. Please let me know what you guys think.

sparkytrainer

Silver

Re: 166 LSAT/3.47 GPA

Post by sparkytrainer » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:26 pm

You are certainly out at Duke.

I didn't want to retake, this site convinced me to. I was a full time grad student, had a full time job, and studied for the lsat for my retake. Best decision I ever made. It sucks, but its worth it.

UVA2B

Gold

Post by UVA2B » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:28 pm

I think if you want to maximize your options for law school and the ensuing extended career, you should consider retaking, even though it's hard to fit in to your demanding work schedule. This is coming from someone who studied while deployed working a total of 70-80 hrs per week. It takes a huge commitment, but depending on your career goals, it will pay dividends in both outcome and cost of getting that outcome.

As it stands, no shot at Duke or Vandy, but that's a pretty arbitrary choice of schools, as is the T30 because we're talking about schools that place almost exclusively in their own regions. If you're considering a "T30," you should consider where you want to work following graduation and ask questions based on those specific markets/schools.

Tpb5493

New

Post by Tpb5493 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:35 pm