Chances for UVA/ other VA schools? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
themostwanted

New

Chances for UVA/ other VA schools?

Post by themostwanted » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:41 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting (though I've been lurking hard for the past two weeks) so please go easy on me. I've searched the forums but haven't found much that fits my profile closely.

My dream school would be to go to UVA but currently my 152 LSAT may be prohibitive. However, I do have some other factors that may benefit me there. I went to UVA for undergrad and am an in state resident coming from southern Virginia. I'm not a URM but I know UVA excepts 40% in-state residents and southern Virginia was really underrepresented in undergrad. Would coming from rural southern Virginia and being a first generation college student give me any boost for UVA law school admissions? Also, UGPA from UVA is a 3.81, double majoring in Politics and History, and my letters of recommendation of course would be from UVA professors. If I ED'd on day 1 of applications to UVA with a good Personal Statement, Diversity Statement, and Why UVA essay do you think they could get over my low LSAT if it doesn't improve significantly in the coming retakes or am I stuck going to Liberty :oops:

(I am planning on retaking the LSAT in June but this test is very hard in my opinion. I struggle to finish the sections in time, and on my real December test I don't think I finished any section completely. Idk how greatly I can improve, I'd be happy with breaking the 160's)

cavalier1138

Re: Chances for UVA/ other VA schools?

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:43 pm

You will not get UVA, and you should not go to Liberty (unless you're really interested in the specific niche jobs that Liberty will offer you).

What are your career goals?

albanach

Gold

Post by albanach » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:49 pm